New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Tony81269

USA
37 Posts

Posted - 08/18/2024 :  15:37:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Everyone,

I'm curious about what people do with these meters. I work in the Well Logging industry and we use Ludlum 3 with beta/gamma probes to take surveys of a bunch of stuff. Inside of the truck before transporting, before and after surveys of the transport containers, and a whole lot of other things we are required to do by the NRC.

Do you all use these in a professional setting? If so, what? Do you just use them as a hobby? I'm really curious as to why so many people want a survey meter.

Anyway, I am going to compare this to our Ludlum. I have access to cs137 up to 300mCI, Ambe sources up to 5Ci - yes I know it's an alpha/neutron emitter but you'd be surprised how much gamma comes out of those. I would like this meter to do good and have high hopes. The funny thing is if it does show to be a good meter and compares somewhat with the Ludlum, the price of an actual NIST calibration would be more than the cost of this product.
Reply #1

Stargazer 40

USA
423 Posts

Posted - 08/18/2024 :  19:14:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote