Radioactive decay and stochastic probability
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SnailsAttack

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 01/11/2023 :  15:10:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I wrote an overview of how the accuracy of a Geiger counter works. Can you guys give it a sanity check? I'm pretty new to nuclear chemistry.

= Radioactive decay and stochastic probability

Every time you flip a coin there's a 50% chance it'll land heads up. Radioactive decay is similar; for instance, every 4.47 billion years, there's a 50% chance that an atom of uranium-238 will decay to thorium-234.

Although it's impossible to predict when a decay event will occur, it is possible to know its probability over a given timescale. This kind of random behavior is known as stochastic probability.

= Time passed, chance of a decay event having occurred for a U-238 atom
2.24 by  25.0%
4.47 by  50.0%
8.94 by  75.0%
13.4 by  87.5%
17.9 by  93.8%
22.4 by  96.9%
26.8 by  98.4%

The reason this matters is because it affects the accuracy of a radioactivity measurement taken with a Geiger counter.

Sample size (number of counts recorded), average percent deviation (average accuracy of a given measurement)
10       25%
100      8.0%
1,000    2.5%
10,000   0.80%
100,000  0.25%

For instance, if you were to measure 100 decay events with a Geiger counter, and the "true" radioactivity of the region is 20.00 counts per minute (CPM), each individual measurement will be 8.0% off, on average (20.00 CPM ± 1.60 CPM).

If were to you take 10 measurements of 100 decay events and put them together (1,000 decay events total) you would get a measurement which would be 2.5% off, on average.

The average percent deviation can be approximated by the following formula, where x is the sample size: 

APD = 80x#8315;¹#5151;²