GMC-300E+ new owner
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ChrisLX200

United Kingdom
35 Posts

Posted - 06/28/2017 :  08:33:38  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just thought I'd say hello afer having bought a 300E+ and registered on the forum :)

The detector worked right out the box, the background being stable @ 26-29cpm. However (like everyone else I guess) I wanted to test it with a more active RA source. Eventually I dimly recalled having a kids chemistry set 50 years ago (!) but it took an hour rooting in the loft to find it in a taped-up box. Some fun chemicals in there were vials of Thorium Oxide and Uranium Acetate - and a tiny tube of something I inherited from my grandfather (a watchmaker by trade) which was used to paint luminous hands on watches etc. That used to be a 2-part compound, one being the green/yellow powder and the other some sort of resin, and they were presumably mixed before being painted on.

Anyway, the Uranium sample provided 2100cpm, the Thorium 2600cpm, but the luminous power nothing (which surprised me - I was quietly worried what it was made of!). Of course the 300E-plus is not sensitive to alpha particles so I don't know what activity they may have there, and I did not open the vials - just rested the glass bottles on the outside of the detector casing.

I noted the GeigerLog Python script utility and tried to get it working under Win7-64 (I have Python v3.5 64-bit installed) but I failed miserably to get it to run. Anyone know for sure that it would/should run in that environment?

Cheers,
Chris

GMC-300E-plus
Reply #1

ullix

Germany
1107 Posts

Posted - 06/29/2017 :  05:29:23  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
GeigerLog requires Python 2.7 environment; see Manual
Go to Top of Page
Reply #2

ChrisLX200

United Kingdom
35 Posts

Posted - 06/29/2017 :  08:24:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote