Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

colonel

4 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2018 :  07:06:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

Newbie here!

I have just bought the GMC-500+ and am having fun with it generally

I live in the UK

I carried it to work to record the changes in the background radiation on the way and noticed that my house is average 18-27 CPM, the area where I live (in the street) around 12-17, the tube/underground 9-15 and where I work (office block in East London) around 10-15

My question is how sensitive the GM-500+ actually is, how much readings at this low level fluctuate naturally and what is the margin of error with this type of device ?

e.g. is there any practical difference between 10 and 15 CPM or between 10 and 20 CPM or between 10 and 30 CPM ?
many thanks in advance

Reply #1

Stargazer 40

USA
382 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2018 :  07:30:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I see daily fluctuation of 10-15CPM. You can record data and view in GQ's viewer. Or you can get ullix's GeigerLog software and do much more analysis of daily variations in background. This YouTube video shows how to use GQ's viewer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4WYn-O1ERg

Stargazer 40
Go to Top of Page
Reply #2

colonel

4 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2018 :  11:59:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
thanks will take a look at that software

quote:
Originally posted by Stargazer 40

I see daily fluctuation of 10-15CPM. You can record data and view in GQ's viewer. Or you can get ullix's GeigerLog software and do much more analysis of daily variations in background. This YouTube video shows how to use GQ's viewer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4WYn-O1ERg

Go to Top of Page
Reply #3

EmfDev

2132 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2018 :  17:16:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi colonel, it's hard to see the difference by just using the CPM if the readings are just background.